Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you happen to have a toddler or a hubby that goes crazy after fresh bakery style bread? In Germany, there are bakeries all over the place with an incredible number of yummy bread varieties from ciabatta, baguettes, traditional bread, potato bread., you name it. All you have to do is imagine a type of bread and I am sure your wish will be granted here any time.

No Knead Bread

No matter how many people say bread is not good for you, I cannot and will not give it up. I love bread. I grew up at the country side eating homemade grape jam on a slice of warm bread taken directly from the hearth. My grandma baked such wonderful bread, crusty and with a soft, white core, a whole tray at a time – and I mean one huge tray, 100x60cm. In two weeks time, that bread would still be fresh, and tasting great. I used to watch her every step, how she knead the bread, prepared the flour, waited for it to leaven and then watched as the fire slowly cooked the bread. Unfortunately I was too young when she passed away to ask about her recipe and method.

Homemade Bread (No Kneading)

Back to present day, I wanted to make bread at home since our toddler adores it. But the traditional way of making making bread implies kneading, which is a bit out of the way with a toddler that wants exactly what’s in your bowl, no matter how much of your tools you share. Also, baking the bread in an apartment oven doesn’t taste like the bread I used to know. Yes, it is still good and tasty and healthier than buying it but that bakery fresh bread though…

Homemade Bread (No Kneading)

While browsing over the infinity of what the internet is, I stumbled across a recipe in a FB group; I watched the video on youtube and raised an eyebrow. Was it actually possible to make bread at home with only 5 minutes of work and get the same results bakeries do? Homemade Bread (No Kneading)

Just take a look for yourselves:

I did not have his oven, nor his pots, but still managed to make the most amazing bread imaginable.

What you’ll be needing? Firstly, plan this 12-24h prior to actually baking the bread, the dough needs to leaven in the fridge.

Bring together the following:

  • 500g  flour (I used 405 flour, then 630 flour, 000 can be used as well)
  • 340 ml water at room temperature
  • 12g fresh yeast
  • salt according to your wishes (usually 1-2 tsp will suffice)
  • a little more flour for the workplace

Homemade Bread (No Kneading)

Firstly don’t worry if you have a little more flour or a little less yeast. My scale is not working and I used them both approximately each time I baked and the bread came out wonderfully! But as I was scared the result will be a failure I didn’t take photos of the process only of the result. Promise to take them next time.

Start by mixing the flour and the salt in a bowl. Separately dissolve the fresh yeast in a little bit of water (from the 340ml you have) and pour it over the flour. Add the rest of the water and with a spoon mix everything 4-5 times just until you can see a dough forming, nothing fancy. Don’t worry if it seems to have too much water, that’s how it’s supposed to be. Now place a lid on top and put the bowl in the fridge for the next 12-24h. I left mine between 10h and 18h.

NK-Bread-PM9

By the next day, when you are thinking only about the smell of fresh bread, the dough would have grown quite a lot. Flour your working space and your hands and pour the stringy looking dough. Put it together in a ball then flatten it up in a square shape. From here, fold it just like in the video. Right side over left and down to middle and up to middle or just fold it in two.

Place it on a towel and let it leaven for another 30-60 minutes. Meanwhile preheat the oven at 250C or the highest temperature you have and place a pot with a lid inside. No need to oil the pot. I used a 365 stock pot from Ikea, so I guess any pot will do. But, definitely use a lid!

Place the dough in the well heated pot, carefully and with the folded side up. Put the lid and let it in the oven for 25-30 mins until the dough becomes golden and the crust begins to form. After 30 mins remove the lid and leave the bread for another 30-40 mins, depending on your oven. As soon as the aroma starts spreading, you are nearly done!

Homemade Bread (No Kneading)

Then, all you gotta do is try not to eat it all at once. If you try it, let me know how it turned out for you!

Bon appétit,

Julie